Sunday, October 9, 2011

10 months old


We're in double digits my friends! Troy is 10 months old today. Another exciting month in our house and the ever growing world of Troy Cunningham. The usual updates below...

Eating: Here's what a typical Troy "menu" looks like: early morning nurse around 4:30am, breakfast around 7am (some toast and fruit most days, eggs or whatever hot breakfast we're having once or twice a week), late morning nurse at 8:30am, lunch at 12pm (I usually pack chicken nuggets, grapes, a cheese stick and sometimes leftover veggies from the night before for lunch on daycare days), afternoon nurse at 1pm, snack after afternoon nap (nutrigrain bar, goldfish, cheerios, etc.), late afternoon milk around 4pm, dinner at 5:30pm (whatever we're eating) and nurse one last time before bed. 3 solid meals, 1 snack and 5 nursing sessions. This child eats a ton!

Sleeping: Troy wakes up between 6:30 and 7am most days, takes his morning nap from 9:30-11:30am roughly, takes an afternoon nap around 1:30-3:30 or 2-4pm and goes to bed between 7 and 7:30pm. He sleeps all the way through until somewhere around 4am where he wakes up to nurse and goes back to bed. Not bad at all, though I'd like for that early morning feeding to be the next one to go :) Naps at daycare have been better most days, but sometimes they're still brutal and he cries a bunch. There was only 1 this week that was like that so progress is being made.

Playing: Simply put, if he's not eating or sleeping he's playing. Somebody asked me this week what his favorite toy is and I think its the train that he got last month that plays sounds. He can push it and walk with it now. He also likes the chunky wooden shape puzzle we have. And blocks, he loves clapping blocks together. He plays with other kids well, though sometimes he uses his size to kind of lean into them, which they don't always enjoy. And when it comes to bigger kids, he tries to pull up on them and they don't really like that either :)

Clothes: Mostly 18 month shirts, 12 or 18 month pants (we run into the length issue all the time) and even though we didn't buy any shoes, I had his feet sized and he was a size 3 (though she said he could wear a 4 to have some room to grow into). Size 3 diapers fitting great still.

Likes: Swimming. Moving (anywhere, anyhow). Walks in the stroller, either outside or around stores. Figuring out how to get in trouble :)

Dislikes: Having his diaper changed. That's about all.

Favorite foods: Grapes. Chicken nuggets. String cheese. Italian foods (chicken parm, lasagna, pizza). Bananas.

New things he's doing: "Cruising" aka walking while holding onto the couch. Pushing walker toys, they've got lots of great ones at daycare plus its a big open room for him to practice in. Still trying to stand without holding on to things. Waving. Clapping his hands.



Words he's saying: We've heard him saying "mama" this month, usually when he's crawling towards me or wanting to nurse. He also says "baba" for a lot of different things and makes the "dada" noise but we haven't seen it used in context much.

Cute things he's doing: Smacking his lips when he's done nursing or eating. Trying to hold other babies' hands. Getting so excited to see us any time we pick him up from somewhere or walk into the room. This Thursday I was in a meeting at church holding Troy and Mike slipped in and Troy spotted him right away :)

No comments:

Post a Comment